Roorda on the Air

19 Oct

Just as I recently expressed surprise at the dollar amounts involved in the race for state Senate district 3, I am similarly surprised to see a TV commercial in the race for the 113th House district by Democratic candidate Jeff Roorda. Here it is:

In the ad, he repeats his “public servant, not a politician” line and recounts his resume. Two observations:

  • The narrator sounds like he comes from a Saturday Night Live parody campaign commercial.
  • “One of the most decorated police officers in Jefferson County history” is a rather bold claim.

Roorda says this ad will air on Charter Cable, Dish Network and DirectTV. You can apparently use cable ads to microtarget neighborhoods and demographics, likely at lower cost than placing ads over the air or with cable networks.

I wrote back in the early days of this blog about Roorda’s record as an Arnold cop. He has posted an article with his version of events here. Roorda has lately had some involvement in the campaign for Prop A (local control of the St. Louis police) in his role as business manager of the police union.

Roorda is running against Dan Smith, who I haven’t heard much from.

3 Responses to “Roorda on the Air”

  1. bmueller84 October 26, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    Dan Smith has personally been walking the neighborhoods in District 113. He stopped by my house on Monday and spoke with my wife while I was out. He said he will hold regular townhall meetings to accurately represent his constituents. He asked if he could place a sign in our yard. My wife told him that I make those types of decisions, so he left a pamphlet and a couple balloons. I’ve seen at least a hundred signs in yards in the Bayberry Farms and Village of Jefferson neighborhoods. Roorda has some minions running around in a gold Sebring. They didn’t seem to care to knock on my door, so I’m not sure about their strategy.

    Roorda was outside the Windsor Library during the February election. I shook his hand and smiled.

    Like

  2. JC Penknife October 28, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    I didn’t catch this on my own, but it was pointed out (by the previous commenter, on Twitter) that this ad starts with “Re-elect Jeff Roorda.” The thing is, he is not an incumbent. He was a representative in the past, so in a way he’d be re-elected if he won, but generally “re-elect” only applies to incumbents.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Local Candidates on the Air « Jefferson County Penknife - October 23, 2012

    […] with Jeff Roorda’s ad, a pair of GOP state House candidates have teamed up to put a commercial on local airwaves. Derrick […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

