Dirty Deeds in the 113th

27 Oct

First, I’d like to point out that the title to this post can be sung to the tune of the AC/DC song.

On to my main point, I received a Facebook friend request today, ostensibly from GOP candidate for the 113th House district, Dan Smith. I quickly realized, though, that the page is a fake, intended to smear him. The page was created October 19. The page links to a website with court documents and a smarmy, cheesy video intended to further the smear. The domain name for the site was purchased on October 2 through a proxy, in order to prevent identification of the real owner of the site. There’s also a YouTube channel created October 19, with three similar-looking videos, at least one of which can be seen at the smear website.

The obvious suspect behind these sites would be the campaign of Smith’s opponent, Democrat Jeff Roorda. The creator of these sites took simple steps to cover his tracks, so we may not be able to prove that, but the preponderance of the evidence, I think, is convincing. My evidence:

1. The attack made on the website, that Smith has a record and is trying to hide it, is identical to that Roorda made in his appearance at the JCGA Candidate forum. See here.

2. I was one of the first people to receive a friend request from “Dan Smith.” At the time I received it, he only had three other friends. I am really not a world-famous blogger (not yet), but I have corresponded with Roorda. He and/or his people know I exist, read my stuff, and invite me to his campaign events. He also links to me, which I appreciate (first link, halfway down the page).

3. Who else would do it? Really, it’s a race for a suburban state House seat.

This further puts the lie to Roorda’s catch phrase: “A public servant, not a politician.”

4 Responses to “Dirty Deeds in the 113th”

  1. wrongonred October 29, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    This is very disgusting, and I consider both Jeff and Dan friends of mine. This really is gutter politics more befitting of a Bill Moritz/Phil Amato/Bob Sweeney type race, where they smear minors and spouses using surrogates without regard for the wreckage they leave. While I am not sure who else would run this besides Jeff, if that is the case, I am very disappointed. I thought I would perhaps draw the link to Patricia Redington, who is the St. Louis County Prosecutor whose name was on the documents. She is the same one that shielded the SEIU thugs who beat Kenneth Gladney at the Carnahan Rally. She has very strong ties to organized labor, as does Roorda, Sweeney, Moritz, and Amato……

    Like

  2. William Burgs November 3, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Good reporting. It seems the smear campaign is carrying out on topix as well. Current funding levels for both candidates put Smith at somewhere around $75K while Roorda has spent over $250K. Seems Roorda is spending more of his money on PI’s and web jockeys to play out a full court press smear campaign. Interestingly, none of the “proof” they’re smearing with is anything that’s gone through a court. Seeing all the signs around town, I sense that Smith has spent his money on signs. So we have one candidate that wants to blow hot air and bully the other, and then you have the other candidate getting down to business and working for the community. Seems a no brainer there.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leader Endorsements « Jefferson County Penknife - November 1, 2012

    […] Jeff Roorda is facing Dan Smith. Both have some shadiness in their backgrounds (Roorda is publicly trying to exploit that of Smith), so I suspect that is why the Leader […]

    Like

  2. Roorda Rock Endorsement Contains Whopper « Jefferson County Penknife - November 3, 2012

    […] have demonstrated here that the opposite is […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

