No More Stoplight Fundraising in Crystal City

23 May

I support Crystal City’s decision to stop approving roadblock fundraisers, as reported in the May 16 Leader. In these fundraisers, groups set up at busier intersections with stop lights, and walk around with a bucket or (in the case of firefighters) a boot and ask for money from motorists stopped at the light. I have never been a fan of these because (except in the case of firefighters, who usually park their truck nearby) you don’t really know who you are giving money to. The fundraisers can say they are with the local high school wrestling team or whatever, but how do you really know? I could grab a couple of friends, do one of these fundraisers, and make a decent amount of money in a short time, and then go spend that money on beer. Even if I did one of these without authorization, how long would it take someone to shut me down?

And of course, there’s the safety issue. These aren’t very safe.

Besides, I think if you are going to get donations from me, you have to work for it. Wash my car, make me a hot dog, or jump in a frozen lake. Don’t just hold out your hand.

I hope that they don’t make exceptions to this policy for firefighters, police, etc., and the article did not mention any exceptions. I know the Rock Fire people like to do these in Arnold; I don’t know if similar groups do roadblock fundraisers in Crystal City. This rule should apply to everyone.

2 Responses to “No More Stoplight Fundraising in Crystal City”

  1. Bob Hohmeier May 24, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    Missed the article. Maybe it wasn’t in the Arnold Leader. But sounds good for Crystal City. Like you, I find the idea of “mooching” for money deplorable. Seems society is teaching early that it’s OK to expect money for nothing. And I agree that doing car washes and other activities should be how these operate. Most towns and municipalities already have laws and ordinances against “begging”. Why is this different?

    You also touched on the safety, or should I say, lack of safety aspect. These intersections are challenging and distracting enough without adding, sometimes young children, into the mix. The one drawback I see is wondering if this will apply to protesters that often do sign waves from the sides of these same intersections?

    Like

    • JC Penknife May 24, 2013 at 7:23 pm #

      Yeah, it was in the county edition of the paper. I think that sign-waving would have stronger 1st Amendment protection than fundraising; also, sign-wavers don’t have to venture into the middle of the intersection.

      Like

Comments are closed.

